The Prosperity Garden!

11 02 2008

Hey guys! Sorry I haven’t been updating much. Before I know it, its been almost a whole month since I wrote anything. Yup, I’ve been busy with school work, particularly with my assignments for this module I’m taking at NUS called CS3216: Software Development on Evolving Platforms. To spare you the jargon, its a module where we develop Facebook applications for homework. Even though its been consuming a lot of my time, its the most fun module I’ve taken at NUS so far.

So what is The Prosperity Garden? It is a Facebook application my group and I developed as homework for our 2nd assignment (and also my first publicly released Facebook app). The theme for the assignment was “The Wall” but we didn’t want to make a variation of typical walls that never fail to make your profile look cluttered. We wanted to create a “wall” that profile owners could customize and call their own which was neat, flexible and interactive. Hence, we came up with the concept of a garden which friends could decorate with a gift everytime they sent you a message. At the same time, profile owners can choose to rearrange the gifts they receive so as to decorate their garden to their tastes and liking. And! Since CNY was around the corner, we decided to create a “Prosperity Garden” filled with auspicious CNY items which you could give your friends like ang pows (red packets with money), gold ingots, red lotus flower, firecrackers and etc.

The learning experience was definitely much more fun when we started getting feedback from users, (We got a few initial users who stared at the app and didn’t know what the app was for despite the instructions!), but I’ll save it for another blog post. In the meantime, do check out the app and feel free to drop me any comments / e-mails on feedback, bugs, errors, or even suggestions to further improve the app! ^_~

P.S: I do accept requests for specific gifts to be included in the app, like a blooded dagger for your enemies hehe!! Just send me a request and I’ll illustrate one for the app!

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 02 2008
The Prosperity Garden!

[…] jerry35 wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptHey guys! Sorry I haven’t been updating much. Before I know it, its been almost a whole month since I wrote anything. Yup, I’ve been busy with school work, particularly with my assignments for this module I’m taking at NUS called CS3216: Software Development on Evolving Platforms. To spare you the jargon, its a module where we develop Facebook applications for homework. Even though its been consuming a lot of my time, its the most fun module I’ve taken at NUS so far. […]

15 04 2011
Trinh Daczewitz

I’ve been surfing on-line more than 3 hours as of late, yet I never discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. It¡¦s pretty worth sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content material as you did, the web will probably be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

